Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Final Cut Pro editing for ME

edited April 2015 in MixEmergency
I'm pretty new to video djing and joined a legitimate video pool as advised a few months ago. They are more than enough for my Hip-Hop/R&B/Urban files.

However i also play Afrobeats/african/regional tracks and i'm learning how to do straight audio swaps on videos with "better" quality ones i purchased from itunes or promo packs.
I have few questions about FCP and Handbrake

This is my current workflow for doing straight audio swaps

1. import video into FCP 10.1.4
2. Import the aac or mp3 of the same track into FCP
3. Highlight the video and mp3/aac in FCP and "synchronize clips"
4. Open Synchronized track in a new "Timeline"
5. Skim through to see if it syncs properly
6. Then i disable the audio of the video track (or detach audio & delete)
7. Share (or Export)

At this step i'm confused as to what format to share as. I tried using the 720p/1080p Apple devices and the audio was compressed to 128kbps

Question 1: What is the recommended settings for exporting in FCP as i dont have "Compressor".

Currently i'm exporting as
Codec: Apple Pro Res 422, 25fps, 1920 x 1080, Stereo (L R) 44.1 Khz

It saves as very Large .mov file (up to 4gig for a music video) and i then convert using Handbrake with the Serato Video 2.2 Preset

Question 2: Am i degrading the file (video & audio) in anyways by this method?

I noticed an option to export as H.264 in FCP. I tried this and ended up with smaller .mov files than the Apple Pro Res 422. But i feel the video looks different in quality, maybe its my eyes

Question 3: Can i "share" using H.264 instead of Apple Pro Res 422?

Question 4: Do i need to check the transcoding option when importing files into FCP? I have checked "Create Optimized Media"

Many thanks

Comments